Pat Ward Wins Fulton Speedway Modified Feature In Dramatic Fashion – Oswego County Today

Pat Ward Modified feature winner

By Dave Medler

FULTON, NY – It has been said in racing that the most important lap to lead is the last one. Pat Ward won Saturday night’s DIRTcar 358 Modified race at Fulton Speedway.

Ward started the 35-lap feature 15th and worked his way up to the top-ten. Ward moved into third place late in the feature. He was in front of the race-long lead battle between Joe Shields, Roy Bresnahan and Ward who traded the lead back and forth throughout.

On the final lap Shields was looking for his first Fulton win and Bresnahan were racing hard. Ward was ready to attack any mistakes by the top two.

As the checkers were coming down in turns three and four, Bresnahan & Shields made contact to get both cars into shape. Pat Ward had just enough space on the bottom to pass straight into victory lane when he made contact. The top five included Joe Shields (Roy Bresnahan), Jimmy Phelps, Todd Root, and Jimmy Phelps.

A strong field of Modifieds signed in to the pits, setting up four heat races as well as a B-Main that would set the 32-car starting line. Ron Davis III and Tim Sears Jr. were both injured in separate incidents. Both drivers got out of the car and were able to get back in their cars.

Six heat races were held to establish a pair of 25-lap features. Nearly 50 DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman were there.

Jake Davis would lead the first feature, leading the 6 laps. Jack Meeks would then take the lead lap 7 using the topside.

Meeks and Davis were in a two car breakaway at the front. It looked like lapped traffic might have played a part in the finish. Just as they reached the back, the yellow light would turn on lap 14, giving the cars in front a clear track to finish.

Amy Holland moved up to second place after the race was re-enabled and set her sights upon Meeks. Holland was able drive under Meeks on lap 18, and became the new leader. Meeks would regain the lead one lap later, still running the top. Brandon Carvey was beaten by Meeks by just 0.234 seconds at the checkers. Wade Chrisman and Jake Davis completed the top five.

Related  PSG secure their 10th Ligue 1 title in minimalist fashion with Lens draw

Mike Root would lead the first 4 laps of the second Sportsman feature. A yellow would slow down the field. Rick Miller would surge into the lead at the restart.

Miller would open a lead, putting some distance between himself & the rest. The lead would be lost with a yellow on lap 9. The restart would see Matt Janczuk and Alan Fink move into second place and third, respectively, and they set their sights on Rick Miller.

Fink would use the topside speedway to get to the top-spot of lap 12. Just as it looked like Alan Fink would cruise into the lead by three second, the yellow would wave, setting up a green-white checkers finish. Fink would win the checkers by 1.209 second. Top-five: Point leader Matt Janczuk and Chris Mackey, along with JJ Courcy.

The 20 lap Billy Whittaker Cars and Trux RUSH Late Model feature saw Max Hill leading the first 6 laps, before Chad Homan, points leader and feature winner, took the lead. Homan won the victory by 7.437 seconds, beating Bret Belden once he was out front. The top five included Harry Halliday and Kevan Cook as well as Sean Beardsley.

Austin Cooper and Buddy Leathley were the stars of the E&V Energy Novice Sportsman feature, which saw them perform in a two-car breakaway. After hounding Cooper for several laps, Leathley completed the winning pass on lap 6 to win the race. This was his second win of the season. Austin Cooper, Dwight Nichols and Brianna Murtaugh finished second through fifth.

Kyle Demo would lead 7 laps of the AmeriCU Credit Union Mod Lite feature. Justin Williams, the division’s winner, would lead the race by inches at the flagstand on lap 8. For the rest of the race, Williams would win over Clayton Brewer and Demo. Brad Harris and Tucker Halliday rounded out the top-five.

This Saturday, August 28 Burke’s Home Centers & Burdick Ford will present one of the fans favorite events every race season when King’s Smash ‘Em Crash ‘Em Demo derbies return for another blockbuster Demo Derby featuring a $1000-to-win 4- and 6-cylinder Demo and a $750-to-win Mini Van and Light truck junk run. The speedway will feature DIRTcar Modifieds (DIRTcar Sportsman), Late Models (Late Models), and Novice Sportsman (Novice Sportsman).
Adult grandstand admission costs $20, with anyone 18 and under admitted free. Pit admission costs $35 Pits open at 4:00 PM. Grandstands open at 5:00 pm. Racing 7:00 p.m.

Related  Artist Ann Ray Talks Lee McQueen, How Fashion Needs to Dream – WWD

Cory Reed can be reached at (315) 593 6531 for any questions or marketing opportunities. [email protected] For all the latest news and happenings at the speedway visit and like the speedway social media pages.

Ingles Performance Night At The Speedway August 21 Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Small Block Modifieds 35 Laps) – PAT WARD, Joe Shields, Roy Bresnahan, Jimmy Phelps, Todd Root, Larry Wight, Mike Stanton Jr., Dave Marcuccilli, Ryan Richardson, Jackson Gill, Lucas Fuller, Bob Henry Jr., Colton Wilson, Tommy Collins, Corey Barker, Glenn Forward, RJ Tresidder, Chris Cunningham, Justin Crisafulli, Matt Meade, Ron Davis III, Marshall Hurd, Jeff Taylor, Tim Sears Jr., Jeff Sykes, Jordan Kelly, Dylan Zacharias, Andrew Ferguson, Nick Krause, Chris Bonoffski, Joel Hall, DNS Jim Walsh.

(Modified B-Main 4Q) – Tim Sears Jr., Bob Henry Jr., Dave Marcuccilli, Colton Wilson, Tommy Collins, Jordan Kelly, Glenn Forward, Matt Meade, Chris Cunningham, Joel Hall, Jim Walsh, Chris Bonoffski, AJ Kingsley, DNS Sean Beardsley, Jordan McCreadie.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1 – 25 Laps) – JACK MEEKS, Brandon Carvey, Amy Holland, Wade Chrisman, Jake Davis, Brett Draper, Mike Button, Richie Riggs, Austin Germino, AJ Miller, Josh Amodio, Rachel Zacharias, Kearra Backus, Kelly Smith, Fire Swamp, Tim Falter, Taylor Doxtater, Jamie Kamrowski, Emmett Waldron, Cody Manitta, Dorian Wahdan, Dave Moyer, Tyler Corcoran, DNS Kyle Devendorf, Steve Marshall.

(NAPA Auto Parts Chase Elliott Award) – Austin Germinio.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 – 25 Laps) – ALAN FINK, Rick Miller, Matt Janczuk, Chris Mackey, JJ Courcy, Ryan Dolbear, Richard Murtaugh, Quinn Wallis, Jimmy Moyer, Andrew Buff, Joe Kline, Brock, Pinkeson, Mike Root, Steve Schrader, Bentley Gray, Tim Gareau, Chris Bonoffski, Mike Phelps, Brett Sears, Jeff Prentice, Edward Lukas, Matt Kitts, Jacob Dupra, Matt Richardson.

Related  UI’s Walk It Out multicultural organization to return with live fashion show

(NAPA Auto Parts Chase Elliott Award) – Jimmy Moyer.

(Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux RUSH Late Models 20 Laps) – CHAD HOMAN, Bret Belden, Harry Halliday, Kevan Cook, Sean Beardsley, Dave Moyer, Todd Chapman, Chris Fleming, Max Hill, Mike Kazmierczak.

(E&V Energy Novice Sportsman 15 Laps) – BUDDY LEATHLEY, Austin Cooper, Dwight Nichols, Brianna Murtaugh, Jason Breezee, Savannah Laflair, Josh Fellows, Mikey Wight, Tayvyn Marino, Jason Lopes, Larry Taylor, Scott Kline, DNS Paul DeRuyter.

(AmeriCU Credit Union Mod Lites 15 Laps) – JUSTIN WILLIAMS, Kyle Demo, Clayton Brewer, Tucker Halliday, Brad Harris, Mike Mullen, Tom Mackey, Harley Brown, Joe Garafolo, Roger Olschewske, Jason Premo, Sam Usborne, Jack Lyon, Scott Sharpe, Wayne Dibble, Casey Sykes, DNS Tristan Dibble.

As such:

Like Loading…

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.